Competitions News: September, 2019


Men’s Competitions

The main event during the month of August was the Club Championship, a summary of results is as follows:-

 Club Champion – Stephen Henderson [71, 76 = 147]; Runner Up – James Pearson [77, 71 = 148]

Senior Club Champion – Jim Kane [75, 76 = 151]

Vice President’s Trophy (6 – 10 h/cap) – Keith Prytherch [76, 78 = 154]

Mug Winner – Ian Lovatt [78 count back]; Runner Up – Sam Hodgson [78]

Wooden Spoon Winner – Mike Johnson [88 count back]; Runner Up – P. Hide [88]

Congratulations to Club Champion, Stephen Henderson

Congratulations to Club Champion, Stephen Henderson



Ladies Competitions

Ladies Club Championship final round was played in good weather and resulted in the following winners:-

Roberts Trophy - (best gross 36 holes) Pearl Crossen

Kirby Trophy     - (runner-up to Roberts) Anne Gollogly

Lambert Trophy - (best gross bronze division 18 holes) Sylvia Glendinning after play-off with Kath Armstrong

Graham Trophy - (best nett 36 holes) Rebecca Maylard

Kirby Trophy    - (runner-up to Graham trophy) Beverley Flockton



Despite the weather during August the course maintenance was eventually completed and competitions scores continue to be excellent. Well done ladies.

O’ Neill qualifier was won by Kim Blythe who has reduced her handicap again.

Baggott qualifier was won by Annette Agar. Chris Bell reduced her handicap by two shots.

Challenge qualifier was won by Liz Tucker on countback over back 9 holes from Katie Clark and Anne Gollogly.

Shaw Plate qualifier was won by Di Flemons and  handicap reductions resulted for her, Christine Bell, Elaine Forth and Norma Thirkell.

Victoria Cup  (for past captains) was won by Anne Gollogly taking her handicap to 8.

Shaw Plate (July) was won by Pearl Crossen, who reduced her handicap to 10.

General Updates

A re-assessment of the course was undertaken during the period with the main outcome being the change in standard scratch for yellow tees to SS 69. The Ladies course has shortened by a few yards and the nine-hole course needs to be looked at. The computer system has been altered to reflect changes and cards will also be altered when next re-printed.

It was previously reported that the new ‘Slope System’ for handicap assessment under the intended World Handicapping System would be introduced in September this year. The introduction has now been delayed for a further year and we will not be seeing it until around September 2020.

The Competitions team have agreed that Clive Morris and John Nixon will organise and run some of the main men’s competitions in 2020, namely the McBain Cup, Shaw Cup, Hodgson Rosebowl, Centenary 4BBB and the Men’s Club Championship. Clive and John are seeking volunteer starters for these competition finals.

We Are Modest